07.04.2011  Directorate for Information and Public Relations of Rosenergoatom Concern OJSC

Rostekhnadzor performs inspections of safety systems at Russian NPPs

The Federal Service for Environmental, Technological and Nuclear Supervision (Rostekhnadzor) performs inspections of safety systems at all Russian nuclear power plants (branches of Rosenergoatom Concern OJSC).

The inspections are held in accordance with the Program of Safety Checks of Russian Nuclear Power Plants, developed by Rosatom SC and approved by Head of the Administration of Safety Control of Nuclear Power Plants and Research Nuclear Facilities of Rostekhnadzor Mikhail Miroshnichenko.

Such inspections have been already held at Rostov, Kola and Novovoronezh NPPs; they showed full compliance of safety systems with all necessary requirements and criteria.

Today the Concern includes all 10 Russian nuclear power plants, which have the status of its affiliates. All in all, 10 Russian nuclear power plants operate 32 power units, including: 16 reactors with pressurized water (10 VVER-1000 and 6 VVER-440), 15 pressure-tube boiling-water reactors (11 RBMK-1000 and 4 EGP-6) and 1 fast neutron reactor. New nuclear power plants are being constructed at Novovoronezh NPP-2 and Leningrad NPP-2 sites.

In 2010, Russian nuclear power plants generated almost 17% of total electric power, produced in Russia.

Back to the list